Thoughts about evolving circumstances

If I believe in evolving circumstances, I have no God to worry about . . . and I have no God to worry about me.  (If I’m correct, of course.  If I’m wrong I do have a God to worry about, whether I knew it or not!)

On the one hand, evolving circumstances says I have no responsibility to God, because there isn’t one . . . On the other hand, evolving circumstances says I have no significance to God, because there isn’t one.

When are times I might want to believe in evolving circumstances? When I know I’m doing something I have a feeling I shouldn’t be doing and I want to keep doing what I’m doing.  If I want to keep on doing bad things, I’m not going to be very happy with the idea of a Creator who is watching over me.

When are times I might not want to believe in evolving circumstances? When I am alone or when humans don’t seem to care about me.  If I have no one who loves me, I probably want to believe in a God of love.  If people are mistreating me, I want to appeal to a higher authority.

In other words . . .

When I am doing wrong, I will probably not want there to be a God who holds me to objective moral standards.

When I am being mistreated or when I am alone, I will probably want there to be a God who cares.

Wanting something doesn’t make it so.  Whether I want evolving circumstances or God doesn’t mean either is true.  But what I want . . . I usually look for to be true.

This is scientifically described as ‘bias’.

What if I am at a point in my life when I would like to be able to do whatever I want?  What if there is something I really enjoy doing that I don’t think I would be allowed to do if there was a God?  If I try to research the subject of God vs. evolving circumstances, which way am I going to show bias?

And what if I am at a point in my life when I would like to believe there is Someone above me who loves me?  What if I am all alone and I want to know if there is even a purpose for my existence? If I try to research the subject of God vs. evolving circumstances, which way am I going to show bias?

So how can I ever get past this bias?  I can’t unless I appeal to a higher authority.

But if I believe in evolving circumstances, I don’t believe in a higher authority, so I can never reach resolution.  I can never be sure that there is truly freedom from eternal responsibility.  I can never be sure I am going to be safe after I die.  And I can never be sure there isn’t a God to answer to.

On the other hand, if I believe in God, I do believe in a Higher Authority.  I go first to what God says is right and wrong and salvation and from there I learn how I can be safe after I die.

And when I do have to answer to God, my God, the God of Christianity, I can rest that He will not remember my sin but instead see the sacrifice of Jesus Christ.

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,

for his compassions never fail. 

They are new every morning;

great is your faithfulness.

(Lamentations 3:22-23, NIV)

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. (Romans 10:9, NLT)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/02/06/creation-vs-total-evolution-eternal-responsibility-vs-freedom-from-eternal-responsibility-match-2/trackback/

