How Is the Creationist’s View Scientific If It Requires Faith?

All worldviews require faith.

Dictionary.com has many definitions of faith, from which I’ve captured a few excerpts: “confidence or trust  . . .” and “belief not based on proof . . .” and “belief in god . . .” and “the obligation of loyalty . . .” and my favorite, “belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standard of merit, etc.[1]”

Many people associate faith with “belief not based on proof” . . . but that begs the question . . . What is proof?  Or maybe more accurately, Who is proof?

If you showed a creationist and an evolutionist a fossil, you would have very different opinions about what the proof was.  The same evidence, but both would draw different conclusions . . . because both have different beliefs.

A person can believe based on

  • Evidence
  • Arguments
  • Lines of thoughts (e.g. philosophy, psychology)
  • Previous beliefs
  • Conditioned response
  • Treatment (e.g., if someone is treated well by a person believing X, (s)he might decide to believe X too.)

These categories blend together in ways that make it incredibly hard (if not impossible) for us to sort out what comes from what.

Science itself is a belief: the belief that the mind is logical, that the universe is logical, and that information can be gathered from it.

I am not ashamed to say I have faith, and that faith changes how I look at the world.  I put on my “Biblical glasses” as Ken Ham calls it, and I look through those glasses when I think about philosophy, science, history, literature, psychology, and so on and so on.  I will freely admit that I do not see perfectly clearly at all times, but this is not because my glasses are out of focus, but rather because I sometimes close my eyes!

Being a Christian doesn’t mean I don’t believe in science.  Being a Christian gives me a reason to believe in science.

Actually, I believe very much in science!  I love to learn about science!  I look at the evidence through my worldview, Jesus Christ, just like an atheist looks at the evidence through his/her humanist worldview.  The difference isn’t the evidence, but the worldview.

And worldview is what belief is all about.

Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ. (Colossians 2:8, NLT)

____________________________________________________

[1] From dictionary.com, http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/faith

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.


Published in: on February 26, 2011 at 11:13 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/how-is-the-creationists-view-scientific-if-it-requires-faith/trackback/

