A song for when you’re really low

This is a familiar song, Jesus Loves Me[1], with verses I’ve added that have helped me remember what Satan always wants me to forget.  It reminds me that  I am loved by an everlasting, ever-merciful, ever-present High Priest who made atonement for me and actively pursues my salvation.

Jesus loves me, this I know.  For the Bible tells me so.  If in Him I do believe, He will be all that I need.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me,

Christ wrote music on my heart when He spoke John 3:16.

His Spirit tells me so.

The Father loves me, this I know.  For His Son has told me so.  If in Jesus I am found, to His Father I am bound.  Yes, my Father loves me.  Yes, my Father loves me.  Yes, my Father loves me.  His Son has told me so.

God’s Spirit loves me, this I know.  For His Truth has taught me so.  When I trust Him with my life, He can conquer any strife.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me.  My spirit loves Him, too.

God’s Spirit loves me this I know.  For within He tells me so.  If I don’t know wrong from right, the Spirit shows me Christ’s pure light.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me.  Yes, God’s Spirit loves me, for Jesus gave me Him.

My Master loves me, this I know, for His grace has shown me so.  From my chains I find I’m free, from my prison I find peace.  Yes, Master loves me.  Yes, Master loves me.  Yes, Master loves me.  His grace has shown me so.


[1] Anna B. Warner, David Rutherford McGuire, and William B. Bradbury worked on this song in the 1860’s, and some 150 years later, it is still one the most popular children songs of all times.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/a-song-for-when-you%e2%80%99re-really-low/trackback/

