My Mom makes the very best lasagna and everybody else is wrong

Everybody says their mom makes the best lasagna because they never had my mom’s lasagna.

I’m serious, you guys.  You have made your decision on insufficient information your whole life.  My mom makes the best lasagna.  You just have to try it.  Once.

My mom’s secret is not what she uses but how much she uses.

At restaurants, the owners are actually thinking about making money.  So they “chince” (to borrow from my mother’s vocabulary) on the ingredients everybody likes the most: cheese, cheese, cheese, and beef.  Even the ones who think they are being really generous only think so because they have never seen a photograph of my mother’s lasagna.

My mother’s objective is to empty as much of the ricotta tub as possible on top of the noodles, throwing handfuls of mozzarella with the efficiency of a Caterpillar® tractor, and showering the cheese land with Parmesan.  Somehow, she gets the hamburger/sausage to cozy its way on in.

My mom used to serve this lasagna for company when I was a kid, and it was very sad for me because there was never enough left over for me for later.

Thinking about my mom’s lasagna (which really, truly is the very best) gives me a grin . . . and reminds me of the power of generosity in our world.

I want my mom’s “lasagna generosity”.

Each person should do as he has decided in his heart—not out of regret or out of necessity, for God loves a cheerful giver. (HCSB)

_______________________________________________________________

Photograph by Lisa Clarke, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/polkadotcreations/, website http://www.lisaclarke.net/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on September 1, 2011 at 7:55 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/my-mom-makes-the-very-best-lasagna-and-everybody-else-is-wrong/trackback/

