Do I really want people to be saved?

Do I have an interest in saving the world . . . or only an interest in my “stuff”, my close circle of family and friends, my career, and my mortgage payment.

If I had to draw a pie graph of my day, how much was spent pleading for the souls of people, living as a witness, and speaking out about Christ?  How much was spent doing “stuff” with no regard to the Holy Spirit’s prompting or God’s plan for my life?  How much of my free time was spent evangelizing . . . and how much was spent entertaining myself?

What would that pie graph look like?

Oooooh.

What I don’t do for Christ I do for Satan.

Romans 8:1-5 (NLT) both encourages and warns:

Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit.  So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death.  But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.  For the sinful nature is always hostile to God.  It never did obey God’s laws, and it never will.  That’s why those who are still under the control of their sinful nature can never please God.

If I’m just going through a routine or living life for the dud pleasures of this world, I can say we care about the eternal souls of people . . . but I don’t.  If I’m serious that eternity lasts forever and the here and now is here and gone, I better start acting like it.

Otherwise, I’m not going to be the laughingstock of the world because I’m so different.

I’m going to be the laughingstock because I’m not.

Published in: on September 5, 2011 at 6:53 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/do-i-really-want-people-to-be-saved/trackback/

