Relativity

A GPS is my Going Places Solo machine.  Without my GPS, I Gotta Phone Somebody or Gotta Petition Strangers.  I need my navigator to direct me to where I want to be.

But if I believed in the relativity of truth I would be more hopelessly lost than ever!  Not only would I not know how to get where I was going, but I wouldn’t even know where I was going . . . or where I came from, either!  (I don’t think my GPS could handle that!)

On the other hand, if I step into the Christian worldview, the Bible instructs me in absolute Truth.  This worldview reveals to me the definition of right and wrong.  (A little like how my GPS tells me what street to turn on and when.)

As a relativists, I can’t get directions, because I have no absolutes . . . and with no absolutes, I can’t even be absolutely certain there are no absolutes!  (That reminds me of when my GPS says, “lost satellite reception”.  Without absolute coordinates, I might as well put a tent up in the middle of the street, because I’m never getting home!)

So many religions claim to have the absolute truth that I could see all these different claims as evidence that no religion can be right.  (But even if a million different GPS’s tell me a million different streets to take to arrive at my house, there is still only one street that connects to my driveway.  The fact that all but one of the GPS’s must be wrong doesn’t mean that the one telling me the correct street can’t take me to my house.)

And anyway, even a relativist has absolute truth . . . in a very different way.

If I’m sure there is no absolute truth, then I’m banking on the absolute truth that there is no absolute truth . . . which is absolutely uncertain . . . or not, because I can’t know that there is an absolute uncertainty about the absence of an absolute truth in a belief of no absolute truth!  (If I input that kind of data into my GPS, I think it would be so confused it’d just give up and start playing radio music.)

. . . . How could I even know I’m a relativist if I’m a relativist, if everything is relativist? (Now not only do I have no GPS, I have no car, either!)

Jesus said to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings. And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:31-32, NLT)

_________________________________________________________________________

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/relativity-2/trackback/

