Only one trunk

I can have many leaves and branches, but I can only have one trunk of belief–the one Belief that all my beliefs stem from.

If food isn’t transported through the trunk of a tree to a particular branch or a particular leaf on a branch, it won’t survive . . . and if approval for a belief doesn’t come through the trunk of our worldview, a new branch of belief or leaf of thought we are considering will never grow.

Since the trunk has control over the branches, the trunk is the ultimate source of our belief system.  And only from the trunk can roots grow that find the nourishment for the entire tree.

The all-important question for my life is, What is at the trunk of my worldview?

What do I stake everything else on?

Truly I say to you, The man whose ears are open to my word and who has faith in him who sent me, has eternal life; he will not be judged, but has come from death into life. (Jesus, quoted in John 5:24, BBE)

_______________________________________________________________

Photograph by Till Krech, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/extranoise/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

Published in: on September 19, 2011 at 7:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/only-one-trunk/trackback/

