Doesn’t everyone make mistakes?

What do I mean by mistakes?  Am I really talking about sin: my deliberate choice to do wrong?  (For more info see blog Are sins just errors or miscalculations?)

If I am talking about my bad choices, then I am really saying, “Doesn’t everyone sin?”

My reasoning in is on a teenager’s level: if “everyone” does something, that something is “ok” to do.

I’ve moved far from my teenage years, and I hope I’ve moved far from teenage thinking.  And yet . . . I will still catch myself thinking about something I knew was wrong, “But hasn’t everybody really done that?  So what’s the big deal?”

There are at least 2 giant problems with my thinking here.

First, why would I think that just because “everyone” participates in something, that action is justifiable or at least tolerable?  What a jump in logic!  Wouldn’t it be just as logical to think if “everyone” participates in something, that action is wrong?  How should the fact that everyone is doing something persuade me to assign morality or immorality to it[1]?

Second, if everyone really sins, there is no one left to be perfect.

If no one is perfect, there is no perfect Creator, and we could never have been created as beautiful or wonderful beings.

And if no one is perfect, there is no way we can ever escape our sins.

If no one is perfect, there is no truth, just bits and pieces of error-filled ideas scattered around the world to be collected by mistaken people.

If no one is perfect, there is no reason to read this or anything else or try to learn anything at all.

If no one is perfect, there is no good.  After all, who is to to say what’s good if everyone is mistaken?

If no one is perfect, there is no love for how can anyone love without truth or goodness?

If no one is perfect . . . we lose everything that matters.

As for God, His way is perfect. The Word of the Lord is proven true. He is a covering to all who go to Him to be safe. (2 Samuel 22:31, NLV)

__________________________________________________________________________

[1] There are examples in history of when “everyone” (really meaning the majority) did something commendable and when they did something wicked.  When the majority of students in a school raise money for a student diagnosed with cancer, we see the right thing.  And when the majority of townspeople discriminate against a stranger, we see the wrong thing.  What brings the majority to do the right or the wrong thing?  Often, the majority follow the lead of one or a few key people with strong convictions . . . rather than taking initiative on their own.

New Life Version.  Used with permission.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/09/24/doesnt-everyone-make-mistakes/trackback/

