Mirror Maze

I got an idea in my head that it would be fun to go into a haunted maze.

Now, I had always liked paper-pencil mazes, and so this seemed, at the time, like a logical next step.  At the time, I didn’t really think about it being a haunted maze but instead a themed maze.  In other words, I wasn’t expecting to have an arm reach out to grab me or a “pterodactyl” to fly in my face or to have to walk through a room of “mummies” and I certainly was not expecting there to be an animatronic giant Egyptian statue at the end of the maze walk out towards me.

I’ll skip past most of the details of my very memorable experience and focus on a mirrored room close to the end of the maze.  There were wall-to-wall mirrors and it was very dark.  I couldn’t even see my reflection in the mirror until I was right up against it.

All around me, people were crowding in the room trying to find the way out.  The mirrors were very clever illusions, and at one point I ran into a mirror thinking I had found the exit.  The mirrors were tilted at such angles that they gave the illusion of being the exit, even though they were really only copying the images each other to appear to make paths.

Those who know me know I can sometimes be very melodramatic in my despair, and after, oh, who knows, maybe about thirty seconds or so I was ready to call it quits.  I figured my mom, highly motivated by claustrophobia, would be sure to find the exit, and I turned out to be right.  My mom found the only way, and I followed.

When I think back on that maze, I realize it was pretty easy to find the way out.  If you were mistaken, you would immediately run into a mirror, and turn back to find another way.  And you could always follow somebody else around.

In life, though, it isn’t that easy.  We can follow an empty reflection of darkness all the way to our grave.  And we can follow somebody our whole lives only to find out too late that they were only chasing after illusion.

I don’t want to follow after mirrors that are just copying one hopeless dead end after another.  I want to find the real escape from the pain and misery of this life.

There are a lot of mirrors out there claiming to be exits.  But there is only one way out.

We all have to decide what that one way is.  It is as much a personal choice as choosing a path inside a maze.  There are all kinds of advertisements for paths; there are all kinds of disagreements on which to trust, and this life would be nothing more than a day at a demented carnival if we had to find our way on our own.  For many people, that is how life will end up–a dead-end reflecting dead-ends, a stopping point that ends in no rest, no sunlight, and no freedom.  But it doesn’t have to be that way.  Not if you don’t want it to be.  Because, unlike the mirrored maze I went into, the labyrinth of this life has a clearly marked exit.

He who forms the mountains, creates the wind, and reveals his thoughts to man, he who turns dawn to darkness, and treads the high places of the earth–the LORD God Almighty is his name. (Amos 4:13 ,NIV)

Perhaps God will grant them repentance to know the truth. Then they may come to their senses and escape the Devil’s trap, having been captured by him to do his will.  (2 Timothy 2:25b-26, HCSB)

Photograph by Sarah Ackerman, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/sackerman519/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on October 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/the-haunted-maze/trackback/

