Seasonal

For as long as I can remember, I haven’t liked seasonal.

Today as I ordered a piece of pumpkin pie, I was already worrying about when pumpkin pie would be out of season and I wouldn’t be able to order it anymore.

When I used to get McRib’s at MacDonald’s, I would fret way, way more than I should probably admit to you about when the promotion would be over.

When I used to get strawberry shortcakes at a local ice cream place, I would be anxious, trying to calculate how many more strawberry shortcake days I had left before strawberries would be out of season.

I can’t remember the first thing I ever worried about going out of season.  All I know is I have worried crazy over everything I care about that goes out of season.  When I put the Christmas tree up, I’m already sad about taking the Christmas tree down.  When I’m getting ready for spring break, I’m already sad about coming back from spring break.  When I’m in summer I’m already dreading winter.  When I’m on vacation I’m already scared for when it’s going to end.  And the morning of my birthday I’m already mourning for the time when my birthday will be over.

I have always had anxiety about things ending.  And about change.  I don’t like what I feel to be “forced” change.  I want to keep my Christmas tree up forever.  I want the days to be as long in November to stay as long as they are in July.  I want my birthday party to never end.  I want those special treats and times to never go away and be locked in a time capsule for days or weeks or months.

Fortunately for me, I have a Savior who understands how needy-for-the-eternal and easily anxious and, well, pitiful I really am.  Jesus promises not to be seasonal.

I am ever with you, even to the end of the world. (Jesus, quoted in Matthew 28:20b, BBE)

Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU,” so that we confidently say, “THE LORD IS MY HELPER, I WILL NOT BE AFRAID. WHAT WILL MAN DO TO ME?” (Hebrews 13: 5-6, NASB)

The LORD is the one who is going ahead of you. He will be with you. He won’t abandon you or leave you. So don’t be afraid or terrified.” (Deuteronomy 31:8, GWT)

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Photograph by Ann Larie Valentine, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/sanfranannie/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/seasonal/trackback/

