The Maze of My Life: Part 3, The Mistake

Inside the building for the maze, I didn’t see anything too alarming.  Yes, I knew the maze was based on a horror movie, but there were black-and-white TV screens showing people inside the maze, and it just looked to me like your regular, ordinary, everyday cornstalk maze, only without the cornstalks.  I could handle that.

I remember Mom asking a wise question at this timely moment like, “Are you sure you want to do this?  It might be scary.”

I hate scary.

But all I saw on the (blurred quality) tv screens were people walking around, trying to find their way out.  No problem.  I could handle that.

About three months after I committed my life to Christ, on the day when I made my commitment known, a lady I didn’t even know at my church walked up and talked to me.  I can’t remember at all what she said, but I remember her message: Watch out–Satan is going to strike out at you now that you’ve made your commitment known.

I thought this was way weird and way silly.

Now that I was committed to Christ, what could possibly happen in my life that could shake my faith?  I had experienced the Presence of Christ.  What could lie ahead that could possibly cause me to stumble?

You know where this is going.  I was in for a big scare.

Satan, I have learned, does not walk up to you after you commit your life to Christ and say, “Well, shoot.  I tried my best to get you into Hell but I didn’t.  I got beat fair and square so I guess all I can say is, congratulations.  Good luck on your new life.”

Think about the very nature of someone who tries to trick people into eternity in Hell.  Just think about that.  I can’t even begin to wrap my mind around that.  That goes way deeper that any premeditated murder we have on earth, and any evil thing anyone has ever done to any mortal here.  Satan has one mission when it comes to humanity: to drag as many of them into eternal torment with him as he can.

And when he loses, he is not a good sport.

I walked into the maze of my new life so happy I didn’t even see any of the dark corners that were coming, or think about what might be lurking in there.  Now that I’ve had a few big scares, I know Satan is out for my throat.  I know he is trying in every way possible to defeat me so that I won’t have one drop of influence in the lives of others, so that I won’t tell even one person about the free gift of eternal life that is out there for them.

I used to look at this wrong.  I thought Satan was the most motivated when I was lost to keep me lost.  Now, though, I think he is even more motivated to go after people who are saved.  First, simply for vengeance.  Second, because lost people can’t lead lost people to Christ.  But saved people can.  So saved people are a threat to Satan’s planned population for Hell.

Satan is scary–there’s no two ways about it.  And there’s no way I can know what he’s planning around the next corner of the maze.  But I don’t have to live my life in some kind of horror movie, peering around with rabbit eyes as I run to and fro.

I don’t have to be afraid because I know up above all that is going on in this maze is God, and He is watching out for me.  And I don’t have to be afraid because I know Jesus Christ has given me His Spirit to go with me.  And I don’t have to be afraid because I know Jesus has gone ahead of me, and He has already created a way out of this maze.  And He has promised that all who trust in Him and follow Him will make it through.

Be sober! Be on the alert! Your adversary the Devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour.  Resist him, firm in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are being experienced by your brothers in the world. (1 Peter 5:8-9, HCSB)

I saw Satan fall from heaven like lightning. (Jesus, quoted in Luke 10:18b, NLV)

Published in: on October 23, 2011 at 8:52 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/the-maze-of-my-life-part-3-the-mistake/trackback/

