The Maze of My Life, Part 6: Illusion

Right after the animatronic arm, a bright pterodactyl flew out of nowhere and I mean went straight for my eyes.  Then it vanished.

I immediately wondered what in the world had happened.  Had I had some kind of breakdown from the animatronic hand?  But I had heard this screeching sound, too.  Had there really been some kind of holographic image?  But what did that pterodactyl have to do with the mummies theme?

I was crazy for optical illusions as a kid.  My mom bought me a big book of all kinds of optical illusions packed with pictures to test the brain.

But ilusions don’t just come from cleverly draw pictures.  They’re all around us.

Where do all these illusions come from?  And why are there so many of them?  Why does it seem like everything in our culture runs counter to the Truth?

Illusions get their start in our hearts.  They are the longings Satan tempts us with.

The hologram or whatever illusion that was inside that maze . . . that wasn’t my fault.  But the illusions I allow to creep into my life by my desire to fill empty longings?  Those are.

I am shocked that you are turning away so soon from God, who called you to himself through the loving mercy of Christ. You are following a different way that pretends to be the Good News but is not the Good News at all. You are being fooled by those who deliberately twist the truth concerning Christ. (Galatians 1:6-7, NLT)

Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.  (James 1:16-17, NIV)

Do not be turned from the right way by foolish words; for because of these things the punishment of God comes on those who do not put themselves under him. (Ephesians 5:6, BBE)

Stop deceiving yourselves. If you think you are wise by this world’s standards, you need to become a fool to be truly wise. (1 Corinthians 3:18, NLT)

And the great dragon was thrown down, the serpent of old who is called the devil and Satan, who deceives the whole world; he was thrown down to the earth, and his angels were thrown down with him. (Revelation 12:9, NASB)

Published in: on October 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/the-maze-of-my-life-part-6-illusion/trackback/