The Maze of My Life: Part 7, Worthless Things

At last we got to some light.  But it wasn’t the kind of light I was expecting.  It was ugly light, and it was illuminating what were supposed to be . . . I really don’t know what they were supposed to be.  I think they were supposed to be mummies hanging from the ceiling.  Why, I do not know.  I was a) disgusted and b) scared.  I did not want to walk under those things.

Mom–who had actually waited–said something like, “They’re just foam,” and reached up and grabbed one.  It was hard to argue with that.

So much of my life has been filled with worthless things.  Feeding digital pets.  Buying $16 eye shadow.  Watching junkyvision television.  Collecting My Little Ponies.  Wistfully browsing fashion magazines.  Obsessing that a B had ruined my 4.0 average.  Fretting over a pull in a sweater.  Daydreaming about being popular enough to go on Goodmorning America.  Scheming how to get back at the teenagers who treated me like trash.  Worrying about what will happen in forty years.  Worthless, worthless, worthless.

Worthless things get top priority only when you don’t realize they’re foam.

For most of my life, I didn’t realize they were foam.

It’s hard not to be distracted by blobs of foam when you are so self-centered you believe everything that comes into your life you pay attention to.  That was me.  It still is, sometimes.

Because I still get distracted.  I still worry about junk hanging from the ceiling of this world.  But when I take a good hard look at it, I realize it’s nothing but a wasted promise.  And when I reach out and put my hand on it, I see it’s nothing but a flimsy attempt at meaning.

Real life comes from Jesus, only from Jesus.

Real life is the path that leads to Heaven.

And I don’t have the time to be messing with foam junk hung up for the sake of distracting me from real life.

Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways. (Psalm 119:37, ESV)

This is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is found in his Son. (1 John 5:11, ESV)

Published in: on October 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/the-maze-of-my-life-part-7-worthless-things/trackback/

