Heart & Soul

Yesterday, something got me thinking of the song Heart & Soul.  I don’t know what it was; maybe I heard it somewhere.  But once I thought about it, I remembered more than the melody that enchanted and haunted me for some of the most difficult years I’ve had in my life . . . I remember now the longing and loneliness that song so deeply wove within me.

I was a broken melody.

I don’t know how many times I played Heart.  It was the easiest part for me to learn.  I learned it when I still thought I could find Soul.

But when I couldn’t . . . I learned how to play that part myself.

It took a long time for me to figure out how to play both parts.  Of course, it didn’t sound as good.  But still, I managed.

. . . And I sat at that piano and I played Heart & Soul for hours and hours.  I played it to combat my depression, but it only fed it.  I played it as though the music would come right out of the piano and become my friend.  But, of course, it didn’t.  And so I kept playing.  I kept waiting.

I kept waiting for someone to sit down beside me.  I kept waiting to hear a melody my own fingers weren’t playing.

I was afraid to play the melody that brought me so much grief.

I was afraid to stop.  I was afraid of the silence.  I was afraid I would find out I had no heart or soul left.

When I moved out of the house, I was relieved not to have the piano with me.  I was afraid I would keep playing that song over and over, and not be able to stop.  I was afraid nothing in my life would ever change.  I was afraid I would never hear another song for my heart and soul.

Years ago, I shoveled the dust of memories on Heart & Soul, and the song was buried . . . forgotten . . . an abandoned melody . . . a sharp expression of loneliness in endless cycle . . .

And then all of the sudden, I started hearing Grace.

It is a supernatural thing to hear Grace.  It’s crazy to try to understand.  But when you hear it, you know

there is another melody.

A melody that has the power to overtake Heart and Soul.

A Person who sits down at the piano with you.

You’re alive

You’re in control

I will live for you heart and soul . . .

Heart and soul.

–from Heart and Soul, The Wave Church

Those who are without friends, God puts in families; he makes free those who are in chains; but those who are turned away from him are given a dry land. (Psalm 68:6, BBE)

“My Father’s house has many rooms.” (Jesus, quoted in John 14:2a, GW)

Photograph by Gog Llundain (Gareth Jones), profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/gogllundain/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on November 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/heart-soul/trackback/

