Lost and found and my mother’s butterfly proboscis

My mom has a butterfly proboscis.

I better explain about that.

I got the movie Metamorphosis (Illustra Media) and I was watching it yesterday and that’s how I got the idea about the butterfly proboscis.

Butterflies use their proboscis to feel what kind of flower they’re on and also to suck up nectar.  That’s the scientific idea of what they’re doing.

So what my mom does is, she uses her proboscis senses to figure out where stuff is that nobody else (namely, me) can find.  She draws it towards her like she has a straw for lost stuff.

Mom doesn’t know why I can’t ever find things, but it’s because I don’t have a proboscis like she does.  I took after my dad.  That’s not my fault, is it?

Of course, Mom doesn’t really look at the whole proboscis-neato-finding-stuff-superpower the same way I do.  She thinks, instead, it is because she puts her hand inside the couch and reaches all around, and crawls around on the floor, and goes through every drawer in the house and, well, basically works to find the stuff.  She thinks that the reason I do not find things has nothing to do with my missing proboscis-neato-finding-stuff-superpower but instead because I stick my hand inside the couch in a random spot for a few seconds, squat down and look underneath one piece of furniture, and open a few drawers.

But I know that can’t be, because in that case, I would actually be just as able to find stuff as her and that would mean . . well, that would mean I should actually try to find stuff.  That would mean that instead of missing a cool straw thingy to suck up lost stuff, I am really just missing motivation.  But that would actually make me responsible for finding stuff.

Oh, no, that won’t work.  I’d rather go back to my proboscis excuse, even if it is for the butterflies.

My mom doesn’t really have a butterfly proboscis, just like missionaries don’t really have halos.  Like my mom, they are different from the crowd around them not because they have super powers other Christ-followers don’t have–the Bible tells us all believers receive gifts–but because the missionaries use them.  And by missionary, I don’t just mean someone who goes to another country to tell people about God.  I mean anyone who is in pursuit of Christ radically.  Missionaries give; missionaries share; missionaries serve . . . it’s a lot of work.  A lot of work.  So much work, in fact, that we try to segregate them off as “special” the way I do with my mom when what I really mean is that she gets to look for stuff while I don’t.

But there’s a catastrophic problem.  God doesn’t hand out enough jobs for .2% of Christians to get done, taking into account that the other 98.8% won’t want to work.  No!  God hands out enough jobs for every believer to stay busy for the rest of our lives.  Because there are people who are really lost.  And everyone who has found forgiveness in Jesus Christ has the life-and-death opportunity to share that find with a lost world.

As believers, what are we going to do?  Are we going to sit back and invent reasons why others need to try to do their job and our job at the same time?  Or are we going to stop talking about butterfly proboscises and start looking for the lost?

As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. (Jesus, quoted in John 9:4, NIV)

Photograph by Sharon Mollerus (*clairity*), profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/clairity/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on November 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/11/24/lost-and-found-and-my-mothers-butterfly-proboscis/trackback/

