Christmas Countdown: Day 2

Lord,

If there is one thing Satan most tries to steal at Christmas, it has to be love.

Love, any real love, will always draw us towards You.

Lord, if my family or friends frustrate me or irritate me in any way, help me to remember that my job is not to underline or highlight their faults, but instead to remember you have scratched all mine out.  If strangers treat me as I would not treat them, I want my instant reaction to be sorrow for them, that they are missing out on love, instead of escalating rage or retaliation.  Lord, when you opened your arms at the cross, you opened yourself to any and every pain the world brought to inflict on You, and rather than send destroying angels over the earth, You drank down the world’s hostility and bitterness and fury.

I pray my love will be more than words.  In John 1, You, Jesus, are told to be the Word, the Word of perfect follow-through.  Help me to follow-through on my love, Jesus.  It’s so easy to type a prayer, hope it helps others, and walk away without any will in my own heart to follow it.  Help me to remember that if I want to love, I have to fight Satan all day long.  Help me to remember he will engage me in battle with whatever he can find that angers me, so that I will be thrown off my course of love.  Help me to remember his goal is to stop me from sharing the supernatural love You gave me with anybody else, so that they will miss out on that love.

Nothing is worth that to me, Lord.  But help me to remember that in all moments of testing.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

It’s in the singing of a street-corner choir
It’s going home and getting warm by the fire
It’s true, where ever you find love
It feels like Christmas
A cup of kindness that we share with another
A sweet reunion with a friend or a brother
In all the places you find love
It feels like Christmas

It is the season of the heart
A special time of caring
The ways of love made clear
And it is the season of the spirit
The message if we hear it
Is make it last all year

It Feels Like Christmas from the The Muppet Christmas Carol, produced by the Jim Henson Company.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/christmas-countdown-day-2/trackback/

