Christmas Countdown: Day 7

Dear Lord,

You know how much I love A Christmas Carol.  I don’t know why it’s called that, really, since it doesn’t have a lot to do with singing, but I love it anyway.

Tonight I pray for charity.

Not the kind of charity that mindlessly gives things away or a charity that frames receipts of all “generous” gifts given.  Instead, please give me a charity that gives intentionally and freely.  Help me to plan ways to give and help me to give whenever spontaneous things spontaneously happen–You know everything, Lord . . . every opportunity You’ve given me to give . . and every time I’ve withheld.

Make my charity like Ebenezer Scrooge’s on Christmas morning.  I want to see Your world through eyes of love, to hear it through ears of hope, to participate in it with thankful hands and feet.  I don’t want to give out of obligation or penance.  I want to give so I don’t burst from the fullness of the Gift You’ve given me.

I want to be Ebenezer Scrooge at the end of the book, only, I recognize I have so much more that’s been forgiven me, so much more charity to share with anyone who holds out empty hands.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/christmas-countdown-day-7/trackback/

