Christmas Countdown: Day 16

Dear Lord,

The promise of reconciliation once again becomes a holiday.

So my prayer tonight is for the reality of the promise.

There is no greater gift that can be given a sinner than to be made right before a Holy God–not just for a few moments, or for a second try, but for all eternity.  The opportunity to be forgiven–forever.

What’s the catch?  It’s the voice that speaks whenever I think about grace.  What do I have to do to try to earn it?  Do I have to go halfway?  A quarter of the way?  At least fifteen steps?  How far do I have to walk towards God before He’ll walk towards me?  What is grace really about?  What do I have to do to get God to like me again?

Lord,

help me to remember that reconciliation

isn’t always

a two-way street.

Sometimes it’s one person leaning down,

pulling another up to where

(s)he doesn’t belong, and doesn’t deserve to be.

Please help me to remember that’s really possible . . .  with You.

You would really reach down and give the very people who cried out for Your death . . . a chance for Your life.

You would really reconcile us to You,

if we want to be.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:The old has gone, the new is here! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. (2 Corinthians 5:17-19, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/christmas-countdown-day-16-3/trackback/

