A little surgery on my thinking

I had a little surgery as a five-year-old that got me a Colorform Noah’s Ark sticker set, a huggy arms plush Elmo that my dad stuck in my face while I was still nauseated from the anesthesia, and a really cool plastic flower bracelet that twisted so the center of the flowers could change colors.  It was totally worth it to me–well, except the flower bracelet.  I got the flower bracelet after the stitches were pulled out too early on my face and now I have a small scar.  It is a gorgeous plastic flower bracelet.

I actually had the surgery because I had a blotch on my face that could have turned into cancer later on.  That didn’t mean much to me then.  What meant more to me was the Colorform Noah’s Ark sticker set and huggy arms plush Elmo.  And, until I hit, oh, my teen years and did not think the scar on my face was cool anymore, I thought the flower bracelet was worth the scar.  (Moral of the story: if your doctor wants to pull your stitches out early because he is going away on vacation, and even if you get a cool flower bracelet from the treasure box, tell him no thank you, because when you’re older you can probably find the same bracelet on Ebay if you wait long enough.)

You know, it’s easy to do things for the wrong reasons.  Sometimes, doing something for the wrong reasons blesses you anyway, like when I looked forward to surgery because my grandma gave me a Colorform set in the waiting room–and it was a nice one with lots of animals.  And sometimes, sometimes it doesn’t . . . like when you have stitches removed early and start bleeding but think it’s okay because you get a $2 or so plastic flower bracelet.

The problem is, when I do things for the wrong reasons, I never know which way it’s going to turn out.  I don’t know whether it’ll be something that blesses me or damages me.  I’m like a five-year-old kid just following whatever immediate, neat thing I might get for doing something.

Sometimes, people get immediate, awesome rewards for following God’s way.  But sometimes, people get immediate, seemingly cool rewards for following Satan’s way.

So what am I supposed to do?

Stop living for the immediate, that’s what.

Otherwise, I’m always going to wind up sometimes bettered and sometimes duped.

And never know which it’s going to be.

There is nothing that grows me up in thinking like God’s Word.  God talking to me is the only way I know what I should be looking forward to, what I should be watching out for, and why.

Otherwise, I might end up with another plastic flower bracelet . . . and an ugly scar.  I don’t mean the kind of scar that you can get just because you live in a fallen world, and I sure don’t mean the kind of scar you can get because you’re suffering for Christ–because that’s not ugly at all–but I mean the kind of scar you can get just simply because you stuck your hand in the wrong treasure box.

I don’t want anymore of those.

Brothers, stop being childish in your thinking. Be like infants with respect to evil, but think like adults. (Corinthians 14:20, ISV)

Published in: on December 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/17/a-little-surgery-on-my-thinking/trackback/

