Christmas Countdown: Day 19

Dear Lord,

There is more than one hill to climb on the way through this life.

I pray for determination.

It would seem that it would be easy to follow You, if only You would smooth the journey: flatten the hills, crush the mountains, build up the valleys, fill in the pits.  But what we forget, Lord, is that when there was no difficulties along the way to You, when there is was only a single temptation, a single access point to sin . . . the human race still turned away.

So my choice isn’t about how hard or easy it is to follow You.  My choice is whether I want to.

Well, that is, it would be, if it mattered.

The problem is, whether I want to follow You or not, it is totally impossible for me to follow You on my own will, because I am chained to my sin nature.  There is no amount of determination that can change that.  Self help can’t help me get rid of self.  I couldn’t follow You on a pathway in Central Park any easier than I could up the side of the Grand Canyon.  I can’t follow You as long as I am chained to who I am.

But, because of You, my chains are broken.

And now, I can follow You.

I can scale any mountain in my life, descend through any valley, and walk over any ravine, because You have the road map, You are with me, and You have already placed Your banner on the highest mountains, Your lamp in the lowest valleys, and Your path over the worst ravines of temptation.

You have made it possible for my choice to matter.

And I choose You.

Every second, every decision, I have the choice to follow You. . . because You pulled my will back from the grave the instant You broke the stranglehold of sin and breathed Your life over the dust of who sin had made me.

And now I am determined, I am determined, yes, I AM DETERMINED to follow You.

You have given me the choice to do so.

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

But now you are free from the power of sin and have become slaves of God. Now you do those things that lead to holiness and result in eternal life. (Romans 6:22, NLT)

Published in: on December 19, 2011 at 9:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/christmas-countdown-day-19/trackback/

