Christmas Light Gazing

Mom asked me, “Do you want to go see Christmas lights?”

The next thing I knew (and only, like, forty minutes later) we were in my mom’s blue van heading up and down the streets looking for light displays.

We talked about how mom likes the classy look and I like the colorful and lots-and-lots look.

A fat possum crossed the road, the headlights bouncing off its eyes, and I said how I wanted a possum in Heaven, and people will look at them differently there.  My mom puts up with me saying that kind of thing.  She knows by now I’m, well, I’m me.

We drove into town, and Mom said, “Oh, look at all the lights over there.”

I fell for it.  I turned and looked until I figured out she was talking about the restaurant and store signs.

We sang to our local Christmas song station and I even let Mom listen to 47 verses of Drummer Boy.  She can roll her tongue on the “rum pum pum pum” and I have to admit, it sounded pretty good.

Our big event was heading to a house that decorates for Christmas just the way you always thought you would when you grew up.  We had to wait in a big line.

The neighbors–a father and son–post music on a radio station that synchronizes to the lights.  At intervals, a kind voice would come on and remind cars to pull forwards.

We didn’t mind the wait.  We practiced our dancing skills.  I showed Mom how to dance like elementary school kids dance and like Snoopy and the Three Stooges and how to riverdance (sitting down).  We just rocked out to Christmas music, oblivious whether anybody might be watching–proud, actually, of our flamboyant dancing skills.  We waited for a long time.  But, really, we weren’t waiting.  We were dancing.

And as we got closer and closer to the marvelastical Christmas light house, we spotted more and more Christmas goodies to dance about: lit-up “grazing” reindeer, inflatable cars with Santa, penguins, and an elf . . . reindeer dancing on a rooftop . . . frolicking color-changing lights . . . a carousel and carnival swings filled with Christmas friends . . . a ginormous inflatable Santa Clause . . . a choo choo train driving by a little creature from the 80’s . . . a lit up nativity.

Tonight reminded me of how much I love Christmas.

How much I love belonging to the Christ of Christmas.

But it’s no club or clique.  Like the lights we viewed tonight, Christ invites everyone to see what He has done and take part in His gift.  And just like the lights we viewed tonight, the joy is totally free to us, paid for by Him.

Who is it that overcomes the world? Only the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God. (Romans 5:16, NLT)

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 6:23, NLT)

Thanks be to God for His unspeakably precious gift! (2 Corinthians 9:15, Weymouth NT)

Photograph by MinimalistPhotography101.com, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/artbystevejohnson/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/christmas-light-gazing/trackback/

