Christmas Countdown: Day 21

Dear Lord,

Tonight I pray for strength!  The day is almost closing, and I still have so much to do!  There can be so much joy at Christmas in helping others, fellowshiping with friends and family, even striking up conversations with perfect strangers in the long checkout lines.  But there can be so much exhaustion, too: wrapping gifts, baking (or in my case, usually mixing together) snacks, fighting fatigue, cold, and, well, lack of sleep (like, say, right now).

It’s easy to get caught up in the sag and start looking at the ruts in the road rather than where the wagon is going.  I pray today (for what little of it there is left), and for all my days, Lord, that I would remember there is only one source of strength: You.  Of course, people can do bad things apart from You, but there is no breath, no movement, no awareness, and no action without Your gift of Life.

I’m tired, Lord, but the more I know You, the more I realize that being tired doesn’t equal no strength.  I might feel crummy; I might want to act crummy, even, but fatigue has nothing to do with the strength You give.  Your strength is given supernaturally to us, every moment we breathe, and we don’t even realize it most or all of our lives.

That doesn’t mean You never want me to sleep, I know . . . but it does mean sleep won’t solve spiritual fatigue any more than turning on a light switch will bring on dawn.  You, and You alone, are the source of all strength.

Please, Lord, give me strength to do whatever you would have me to do, whenever You would have me to do it.

Much love,

In Jesus’ Name,

Amen.

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in times of trouble. (Psalm 46:1, GW)

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on December 21, 2011 at 11:46 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,