Opossum Grace

On my way to church tonight, I hadn’t even made it out of the neighborhood when suddenly my headlights picked up a very out-of-place creature in front of my car.

I hit my brakes and I thought, I’m going to run over a possum as I looked at the crouching lump skuttling across the road.  I looked in his beady, black, alarmed, little eyes.

Now aware of doomsday, the possum began running as hard and as fast as he could across the road.

As I pressed down on my brakes, I was mesmerized by the clearly well-fed, unsightly creature in front of me.

I said the possum was running as hard and as fast as he could, and this was true.

The problem was the as he could part.

As my car slowed to a stop, the Macy’s Day Parade could have passed before the opossum had made it across the road.  Almost.

This little rodent was running as hard and as fast as he could, and there was no way even in a neighborhood subdivision he could have made it across the road before he was mush.

If I hadn’t stopped.

And then I remembered.

This is a picture of what You have done, God, for me.

The Bible teaches us that God didn’t plow over us the instant we sinned.  Instead, He slammed on His brakes and made a way for us to cross unharmed.

Little opossum, I love you for reminding me what God has done for me.

Rescued.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8, NASB)

____________________________________________________________

Photograph by Patrick Feller, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/perspective/, website http://www.accentoneclectic.com/  Backstory: The photographer (Patrick Feller) rescued this opossum and released him into the wild.

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/opossum-grace/trackback/

