Direction

Asking for directions is only valuable if the person I’m asking wants to help me and knows the way.

Somebody can want to help me, but if they don’t know the way, I’m going to be going in the wrong direction.

There are all kinds of people in the world who give advice on religion and philosophy.  The question is, Who really knows the way?

Jesus made a claim about Himself that was absolutely astonishing.  He claimed that He had the power to resurrect Himself.

The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” (John 10:17-18, NIV)

Then He backed that claim up by rising from the dead.

That’s unmatched in the history of the world.

I don’t know anyone else, anywhere, ever who has been able to die and raise themselves back up.

The afterwaves of the resurrection were extraordinary.  The followers of Jesus became instant outcasts–mistreated, tormented, and murdered.  The question I have to ask myself is, Why would the followers who claimed they saw Jesus rise from the dead be willing to die miserable deaths if they were making it up?

They wouldn’t.

I can listen to debates all day that try to claim one thing or another, and speculate, and hypothesize, and huff, and puff . .

But I don’t need to.

I’ve found the way.

I am the way –Jesus

John 14:6a

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/direction/trackback/

