“Do your best and then be at rest”?????

Tonight I saw the phrase, “Do your best and then be at rest.”

And I thought, I don’t want to do my best and then be at rest.  The rest would be Hell.

My best isn’t enough to give me any kind of rest.  My best is enough to keep me awake at night, replaying my mistakes, reviewing my failures, revisiting my inadequacies.

If going to Heaven is about my best, I am in the worst shape.

I thank God that Jesus came and did His best.  His best was good enough.  His best was payment for my worst–for all of our worsts.

I’m not doomed anymore to my best.

I can rest in the love of Jesus.

There is no happiness in me! Who can set me free from my sinful old self? God’s Law has power over my mind, but sin still has power over my sinful old self. I thank God I can be free through Jesus Christ our Lord! (Romans 7:24-25, NLV)

_______________________________________________________________

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/do-your-best-and-then-be-at-rest/trackback/

