The Rapture

There seem to me to be many reasons why a person should not bank on coming to salvation after the rapture (after the point when Christians are drawn to Heaven):

  • Some people believe the rapture will not happen until the end of the world, meaning there will be no time to call upon Jesus after the rapture has happened.
  • If the people who believe the rapture will happen before the end of the earth are correct, there is no guarantee that people left on the earth will still be able to receive salvation.
  • People can resist God for so long, that they become hardened to Him, no matter how miraculous the events they see.  (See the Gospels and the book of Revelation for more info.)
  • Whether or not people can receive salvation after the rapture will not be important to the person who dies before the rapture.  God has revealed to us that we do not know when He will return.  Any of us could die before the rapture.  We don’t even know if we will live for the next 5 minutes.

No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. (Jesus, quoted in Mark 13:32, NIV)

I fear that a lot of people have a view of end times that is largely constructed from people’s hypothesis rather than what is promised in Revelation.  What we all know from reading Revelation is that unsaved people will go to Hell.

If you are unsaved, waiting to believe until your Christian friends are raptured is incredibly dangerous.  You are playing with your soul.  God could wait 100 years, or a 1,000 years, or 10,000 years to come back.  We just don’t know.  Or, He could come back this very minute.  We must all be ready to face Him now.

If Jesus doesn’t come back in my lifetime, that doesn’t mean I won’t be meeting Him.  One day, I will stand before Him, fully accountable for everything I have ever thought, said, and done.  That is a terrifying thought–absolutely petrifying.  I don’t feel any need to worry about the rapture or even the end of the world when I think that there will be the end of me in this world someday.  I will die and stand before God, unless God comes back first.  Either way, I will be meeting God.

The question is, Do I belong to God?  This is a fearful question.  I don’t want to die or get to the rapture to face the answer to that.  I want to look at that question right now–instantly!

If you are reading this and don’t know Jesus, salvation is one decision away.

“You are from below, I am from above; you are of this world, I am not of this world. “Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for unless you believe that I am He, you will die in your sins.” (Jesus, quoted in John 8:23b-24, NASB)

Can any of you prove that I am guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? (Jesus, quoted in John 8:46, NCV)

Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe has already been condemned, because he has not believed in the name of God’s unique Son. (Jesus, quoted in John 3:18, ISV)

He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him. He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God. (Jesus, quoted in John 1:10-14, ESV)

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9, NLT)

__________________________________________________

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/the-rapture/trackback/

