Center seat

I have always been somebody who likes to sit

in the center,

right square on.

I am not so daring at I used to be, but at one time I was famous for finding the center seat, irregardless (I know that’s not really a word, but it just sounds so like it should be) of who I might be sitting next to.  One time, I walked down an entire empty theater, with like four people speckled in the back, to sit right next to a father and his daughter, because they happened to be sitting next to the best seats in the theater.

And then my mom had to come traipsing down the empty rows to sit next to me and the stranger and his daughter.

I think it was a walk of shame for her.

Anyway, it turned out great.  We got to know them and they got to know us, and we all got to enjoy the best seats in the theater.  Win-win.

I got paid back for that.

The last movie I saw in the theater, just about when the movie was getting ready to play, and older gentleman came to sit right next to me.  In his defense, there were people all across our row.  (But there were other seats in the theater still open.)  Anyway, he came and sat right next to me.

He could have been a football player when he was younger, and his leg literally took up half my leg space.  And he had to have the armrests.  So I sat in half my seat, corkscrew like, for the duration of the entire 2-hour movie.  Afterwards, my hip hurt.

I don’t mind.  But it was kinda funny, given my track record.  I’m sure God planned that one right out and maybe He was chuckling in Heaven, too.

I think it’s human nature to want to be in the center.  To want to see everything square-on.

That’s why, when I want to know who God is, my first source is what He says about Himself.  I want to see square-on.  God offers perfect seats to anyone who would want to come and watch the unfolding of the creation of the world, the fall of mankind, the war between good and evil, and the resurrection power of the Lord Jesus.  It’s all in His Word.

No angled view, no far-away seat.  We can see straight-on who God is anytime we want.  And incredibly, all we have to do is pick up a copy of the Bible (or go to a Bible-reading website).

A center seat is just waiting for you.  Are you ready to see God for who He really is, straight-on?

His Word is ready to tell you.

Taste and see that the Lord is good.
Blessed is the person who takes refuge in him. (Psalm 34:8, GW)

______________________________________________________

Photograph by Mathias, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/afroboof/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/center-seat/trackback/

