On lost cell phones and talking to God

I would guess I lose my cell phone about once a week (this may be a bit conservative).  I’ve had a cell phone since I was 17 years old, around the time they caught on for ordinary people where I live, even college students like I was (that was about 2001). So I’ve had a phone for about 11 years.

With 52 weeks in a year, and 11 years of cell phones, and me losing my phone an average of once a week, I would estimate I have lost my phone about 572 times.  There have been times I’ve found my phone that day (or, more likely, someone else has found my phone), and times I haven’t found my phone for days (until, most likely, someone else finds my phone).  I’ll suppose I lose my phone an average of a half-day each time.

If that’s true, I have been without a phone for about 286 days in the last 11 years (maybe more like 572 days).  That’s a lot of days to be without a phone.  In that time, I have used friends’ phones, strangers’ phones, and yes, at times, been totally without a phone.

There are time I need my phone.  Although there were about 4,015 days (not counting leap years) in the last 11 years, and although I only was without a phone for somewhere around 286-572 of them, and although that is only 7-14% of the time, some 80% of when somebody really needs to reach me, I don’t have my phone.

The explanation for that is that, even when I know where my phone is, I often don’t have it with me.  That’s probably 3-4 of the 7 days in a week.  And then, 1-2 more days a week, my phone isn’t charged.

Looking at this with “critical statistical analysis”, 0-1 days a week, my phone is in working order.  Huh.  I didn’t realize it was that low, but math does not lie, unless it’s done by somebody who is making up random numbers to sound statistically important, of course.

I’m really happy that God never loses His cell phone.  The Bible tells us that He is always available to talk.  He never silences His phone, ignores text messages, or blocks the calls of anyone who knows His number.  We can literally talk directly to God–no secretary to go through, no forms to fill out.

This doesn’t mean we dial up God’s Kingdom in our wretched state of depravity and expect to have a chat with Almighty God.

We don’t know His number.

It’s like every one of us lost God’s phone number when we sinned.  Without His number, we have no way of getting ahold of Him.

We have to go to one Person of God first: Jesus.  Why?  Jesus is the one who paid for God’s line to be open back to us.

Well, the problem gets even worse than that.  Since the time Adam and Eve disobeyed God in the Garden of Eden, we have chosen to live without God and go our own way.   It wasn’t just that we lost His number.  We lost our phone line.

Like a spoiled teenager tearing apart a phone so (s)he won’t have to take any more calls from mom or dad, we unfixably broke our contact with God.  And like that same teenager who then discovers himself/herself stranded in the middle of nowhere with no way to call mom or dad back to beg for help, we are hopelessly stuck in the middle of our sin!

Since God is the only One who can give the gift of communication to Himself, we have no way to get communication back to Him, since we can’t even talk to Him, since we destroyed the communication we had made possibly by holiness.  Holiness was the natural way God made Adam and Eve in Eden, so talking to God was purely natural.  But now, communication is impossible–if we have to be the ones who instigate it.

Jesus is the only one who knows God number.  And since Jesus is one Person of the Trinity, calling Him up is talking to God!

We have to go to this Person of the Triune (three Persons) Almighty God first.  We can talk to Almighty God through this Man: Jesus Christ.

Ultramiraculouspectacularly, Jesus gives each and every one of us a new cell phone (that’s grace available to all) and His number (that’s access) with the promise to restore the broken connection (that’s payment by His suffering on the cross) and listen to our prayer for help and forgiveness (that’s everlasting mercy).

But how do we know Jesus’ number?  It’s written right in John 3:16, plain as day.

God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son so that whoever believes in him may not be lost, but have eternal life.

The phone number is belief in Jesus as God’s one and only Gift for salvation.

Under the old covenant, the priest stands and ministers before the altar day after day, offering the same sacrifices again and again, which can never take away sins. But our High Priest offered himself to God as a single sacrifice for sins, good for all time. Then he sat down in the place of honor at God’s right hand. There he waits until his enemies are humbled and made a footstool under his feet. For by that one offering he forever made perfect those who are being made holy.

And the Holy Spirit also testifies that this is so. For he says,

“This is the new covenant I will make

with my people on that day, says the Lord:

I will put my laws in their hearts,

and I will write them on their minds.”

Then he says,

“I will never again remember

their sins and lawless deeds.”

And when sins have been forgiven, there is no need to offer any more sacrifices.

And so, dear brothers and sisters, we can boldly enter heaven’s Most Holy Place because of the blood of Jesus. By his death, Jesus opened a new and life-giving way through the curtain into the Most Holy Place. And since we have a great High Priest who rules over God’s house, let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean, and our bodies have been washed with pure water. (Hebrews 10:11-22, NLT)

______________________________________________________

Photograph by Tripp, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/trippchicago/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/on-lost-cell-phones-and-talking-to-god/trackback/

