Disguise

What comes to mind when I think about the Devil?  A pitchfork, red suit, horns?

Even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. (2 Corinthians 11:4b, NLT)

It’s easy to think of Satan inciting people to become axe murderers.

It’s harder to think of him in the “little white lie” I told.

It’s even harder to think of him in the pastel, foil-wrapped chocolate eggs that try to turn the message of the resurrection into a day about bunnies and scavenger hunts.

I don’t have a hard time seeing Satan’s handiwork in the woman who slaps her child in the face . . or the man who terrorizes his family . . or drug addict who sells her child’s food stamps for another fix . . or the boss who demeans and abuses his employees.

But is Satan any less at work in my self-serving hatred for or despondency of them?

I can see Satan in a mob . . but can I see him in my gossip?

I can see Satan in the crazy prejudice that leads one man to kill another . . but can I see him in the subtle sleight I give to someone I’m sure I’m superior to?

I can see Satan in a robbery . . but can I see him when I take credit for something that isn’t mine?

I can see Satan in a terrorist . . but can I see him in my underhanded bullying of someone I don’t really think belongs in the same space as me?

I can see Satan in a drunk driver . . but can I see him when I speed or text when I’m driving?

I can see Satan in a concentration camp . . but can I see him when I fail to do anything for those who are trapped or helpless who I know?

I can see Satan in a murder . . but can I see him in my grudge?

Most of the time, I think Satan’s favorite way to work

is in disguise.

But he is waiting, waiting.  Biding his time for when he can reveal himself to everyone he

owns.

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. (1 John 1:8, NIV)

“He [Satan] was a murderer from the beginning. He has always hated the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, it is consistent with his character; for he is a liar and the father of lies.” (Jesus, quoted in John 8:44b)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/disguise/trackback/

