Wedding day

I don’t know if it’s really true that every little girl plans her wedding.  Probably not.  But I sure did.  Not as a little girl, but in those teen years, you betcha.  I planned the dress, the walk down the aisle, the music, the reception, and the ceremony.

Now I’m 28.  The music I will walk down the aisle to has changed 18,752 times or so.  Once I saw the love of Christ, I just couldn’t not celebrate the greatest love of all at my wedding, and I switched over to worship songs.  I only have about 30 or so that I intend to play as I walk down the aisle.  I guess I’ll either have to walk down 30 times or walk down really slowly.  Would everybody still stand for the bride on the 30th time she came down the aisle?  I guess there’s one way to find out.  Come to my wedding.

The ceremony is now 7 hours long (and counting).  Over the years I’ve lost my focus on the dress and don’t care much about the reception.  What I really want is to tell the story of Jesus’ testimony in my life.  I keep thinking of new songs, new media elements like documentaries on my life (narrated by me) and photo slideshows–new ways to share what God’s grace has been in my life.  (And yes, while all the while getting much too much carried away with myself.)

I’d tell you all the radical ideas I have for my wedding, but I haven’t given up on getting married just yet and I don’t want to spoil it.  Just in case.

This morning, as many mornings, I was thinking about my wedding plans, adding another 5 minutes to the ceremony.  (My friends will just have to be understanding if they come to my wedding and recognize it has taken me years and years to get married and therefore a few of a lot of hours on my wedding day–or days, should it run a bit too long to fit into the limitation of only 24 hours–is no big deal.)

And then, as I was thinking out Aisle Walk #169,420, I had to stop and chuckle.

You know what God?  YOU plan my life.  How about I just wait and see what You have for me?

It might not be a wedding day with a ceremony so long we’ll have to schedule in bathroom breaks.  It might not be a wedding day at all.  But there’s something I know it will be: good (God chosen).

That’s enough for me.

Oh–P.S.  If I am not married by 40, I think I should have a big birthday party and plan all this stuff I was going to do at my wedding and make it fit . . somehow.  The dress might be the tricky part.

O LORD my God, you have performed many wonders for us. Your plans for us are too numerous to list. You have no equal. If I tried to recite all your wonderful deeds, I would never come to the end of them. (Psalm 40:5, NLT)

The counsel of the LORD stands forever, the plans of his heart to all generations. (Psalm 33:11, ESV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/wedding-day/trackback/

