Wishing well prayers

College tests stressed me out.  I would throw a prayer towards Heaven before a test, “Lord, help me do good.”  Something like that. Not too fancy, but ‘insurance’ just in case I needed a little extra celestial help.

If I got a 98 or 96%, I decided It had probably been my smartlyness and hard work.  If I did thank God, it was only ritualitistic–I didn’t want Him to curse or jinx my next test.

I prayed a lot like I tossed coins into a fountain.  For more serious requests, I threw in “quarter” prayers.  For the everyday kind of askings, I threw in “penny” prayers.

When I “got my wish”, I didn’t feel like I had anything to be thankful for.  After all, it was me who threw the coin in—right?  And anyway, does someone really go back and thank a wishing well for good luck?

But when I didn’t get my wish, do you know what?

I was usually mad at God.

My inconsistency revealed what I really knew deep inside: God is not a coin fountain.

One day, I dropped all my coins and ran from the fountain to the arms of God.

Once I saw the love of God for what it is, I never wanted to go back to that personless well of my imagination.

When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again. Don’t be like them, for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him! Pray like this:

Our Father in heaven,

may your name be kept holy.

May your Kingdom come soon.

May your will be done on earth,

as it is in heaven.

Give us today the food we need,

and forgive us our sins,

as we have forgiven those who sin against us.

And don’t let us yield to temptation,

but rescue us from the evil one.

(Matthew 6:7-13, NLT)

_____________________________________________________________

Photograph by Vladimer Shioshvili , profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/vshioshvili/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.

See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.

Published in: on June 22, 2012 at 6:58 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/wishing-well-prayers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

