The 33 letters of Kekeli

Children sponsored through Compassion International write their sponsors at least 2 times each year.  In the almost 14 months I have sponsored Kekeli, she has written me 33 letters.

Before I go on, I want to say this is far, far from typical, and no one should ever unsponsor a child because they don’t write often.  That would be something like refusing to feed a child because they’re so malnourished they are not gaining weight.

And now, the 33 letters of Kekeli.  🙂

Below are 33 excerpts from 33 blessings God has given me.  They are not in order.  (I am not a person who keeps things in order.)

  1. “I would like to be a director when I grow up.”
  2. “I’ve never seen a giraffe.”
  3. “When will you visit me?”
  4. “Now, I know your holidays.”   I had written about holidays in America.
  5. “I got shoes for the church and a nice dress.  Do you like this color?”  There was a photograph with the letter!  Her dress was pink.  It is possible to love someone else’s dress and not be the least bit jealous.  I found that out.  (And I wrote her how much I loved her dress.)
  6. “Tell me about your meal “Taco”.”  I was surprised!  I hadn’t told Kekeli anything about tacos.  Apparently, there is information going around Togo that Americans eat tacos!  It’s true, too!  I told Kekeli tacos are originally from Mexico and sent her an picture from the internet with my letter.
  7. “Congratulations!  You have spoken French in your letter.” I have used Google Translate to say things in French to her.  French is the language commonly spoken in Togo.
  8. “You have such a good memory!  Pray for me to have a good memory too.  I will ask mom tell me too the story of my childhood.”  I had shared childhood memories with her.
  9. “My mother showed me his photo.”  Kekeli and I have both lost our fathers, but she lost her father when she was almost too young to remember.  I had shared with her my thoughts about losing my father.  
  10. “I am very glad to be your goddaughter.”
  11. “Here we’re great by the grace of God.”  Kekeli’s mother has struggled with malaria, and in her community, of the adults who find work (half of the adults are unemployed), the average income is $40.  If Kekeli can be great by the grace of God, I know I can.
  12. “Please pray for us, that you and I may see each other face to face one day.  What a joy it will be.”
  13. “Now I read my books often too that I may get ready for the next academic year.”  Kekeli wrote this letter on holiday.
  14. “Greetings to you in Jesus my Savior.”
  15. “Receive God’s peace!”  Kekeli wrote me this as a greeting.  What a greeting!
  16. “Do you have a fiance?”
  17. “It is cold here because of the monsoon.”
  18. “I have never played on a seesaw.”  I had asked her.
  19. “I love you.”
  20. “Basin is a hand tinted cloth in cotton.”
  21. “Jesus is the healer.”
  22. “I will read the verse at home.”  I had sent her a Scripture verse.
  23. “Can you describe to me your Christmas day?”
  24. “At the project center, we sang, danced, and ate very well.”  Kekeli’s Christmas celebration at the Compassion-sponsored center.
  25. “Do you eat rice?”
  26. “I like rabbits so much, as you know.”  I had sent pictures of rabbits.  We love rabbits.
  27. “I love you so much.”
  28. “I will never forget you in my prayers.”
  29. “I will put the stickers in the right place.”  I had sent Kekeli an activity sheet with stickers that were supposed to go in certain spots.  I had written directions in case she was confused.  The seriousness with which she took such a little gift was humbling.
  30. “Every day I am interested in reading the Bible to know God better.” As we began to correspond, Kekeli wrote that her mother rarely went to church.  When I asked if she had a Bible to read, she wrote that she had lost the Bible the Center had given her.  As our correspondence has progressed, I am overjoyed and adore God for the work He is doing in Kekeli’s walk with Him.
  31. “I see in the picture it’s like punched holes.”  She had asked me what a stencil was, when I had written her about stencils in a letter.  I sent her a picture.
  32. “Why is there not fufu there?”  I didn’t have a good answer for this question!  In information about each country where Compassion works there is a recipe.  The Togo recipe included “fufu”.  I had commented on this when I wrote to Kekeli.  She is apparently surprised we do not have fufu here!  Fufu is yams “boiled until they have the consistency of dough”.  I wish we did have fufu!  You can read more here under “Typical Foods”.
  33. “I love Jesus.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-33-letters-of-kekeli/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just found your blog from Compassion Family’s (Jill). I love this post. Thank you for sharing. My daughter sponsors a little girl from the Philippines, she sponsored her in June 2011 and she has received 16 letters. Wow!! How wonderful. I love reading all her words.

    Much love

    • Thank you so much! Kekeli has blessed me far more than I have blessed her! This is the grace of God when we do ministries!


Leave a Reply

