so insignificant ?

Introduced as a “mini mini teacup” of a breed mixed with something else (which must have been super mini), I held in my hands today a very miserable little dog.

The girl introducing her to me had just got her.  The dog was definitely able to fit in a teacup.  She looked awfully scared and awfully unable to cope with the world.

She was so small, in fact, that she could have been frightened by a rabbit.

She was so small, in fact, that one misstep of a foot could have been fatal.

She was so small, in fact, that she seemed scarcely able to do anything other than shiver out at the world.

Someone has figured out a way to breed dogs down to the point that they are contrary to nearly everything they were created to be able to do–like run and play and bark.  This little dog was not much bigger than a bird and didn’t look like she could do much of anything that she would like to be able to do.  It almost seemed like she knew it, too: that she should be a great deal bigger (and happier) than she is.

It got me thinking . . sometimes I used to feel like God had created me like that that poor teensy dog I held today.  So fragile–if I was dropped just once, I would crack.  So weak–I couldn’t do anything I really wanted to do.  So hurtable–I had to hope no one would crush me.  Like some science lab experiment created specifically to be pathetic.

For the Spirit that God has given us does not make us timid; instead, his Spirit fills us with power, love, and self-control. (2 Timothy 1:7, GNT)

Unlike this little dog I held in my hand, who has been genetically altered to be weak, flimsy, easily broken, and a huge target for victimization, God created us in His image.  The curse we have brought on ourselves is one that Satan wields to make us timid, frightened of every new sound, crouching at every footstep.  But that isn’t God.  And that isn’t the Spirit He sends to those who seek Him.

God doesn’t make us timid.  God gives us courage–every one of us who believes in Him, no matter how cowardly or lowly we may fear we are.  God gives us power–good power–and love–His love–and self-control–to fight against every war that Satan wages.

If I know Christ, then my worries should never be that I might get dropped, or stepped on, or teased.  I have been God-breathed simply by my creation in His image; and I have been renewed, remade, reforged in the strength of His Spirit.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. (Jesus’ words to His disciples, John 14:27, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/so-insignificant/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

