The goodness and righteousness of God is the lens through which to ask all questions.

Suppose I told you that a famous murderer just murdered another person.  Would you believe it?  Probably.  You’d have no reason not to.

But what I told you that a person you dearly love just murdered someone?  Would you believe it?  Certainly not.  You’d have every reason not to.  You would go straight to that person for the facts and ignore me.

In the same way, when we have a right relationship with God–when we know that He is good and when we have received Christ’s payment for our sins so we can live in His goodness–we will not be so easily mislead and thrown down by Satan’s “best arguments”.

“As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the LORD is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in him.” (2 Samuel 22:31, NIV)

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9, NLT)

Jesus warns us there are three things Satan wishes to do:

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy

(John 10:10a, NIV)

Destroy is the last one.  If Satan can destroy someone’s faith by slandering God, he’ll do it.  Any questions that doubt God’s character are from Satan.

Do we doubt that the sun will rise tomorrow?  Yet how much more faithful is God, who, from eternity past and to eternity future, always acts justly, in truth, and from a righteous heart?

There might be times when we read a Bible passage, and think we would have acted differently than God.  This doesn’t, however, point to a lack of goodness in God, but a lack of goodness in us.

One time when I was a kid, I busted my head open.  The pediatrician I knew and trusted was not in, and my mom allowed a doctor (who was on call) to stitch up my head.  I was very unapproving of this.  First off, I didn’t understand why there were scissors in front of my face and what looked like wax paper of my head.  I had no idea he was stitching up my head; I didn’t really see the needle through the paper.  I mistrusted the doctor because I didn’t know him and I decided I didn’t like him.

He sewed up my head beautifully.  I can’t even see the scar.  Had I trusted him, I could have laid still while he mended me instead of screaming my head off.  I never even thanked him.  I was suspicious of him to the end.  I didn’t know what a good surgeon he was.

This is a picture of what we do to God.  Can you imagine dying from a head wound that could be easily treated?  Yet we do far worse when we run from God’s goodness back to our sin.  God wants to help us; He knows how to help us, and He has chosen to help us–the question is, will we believe Him?

When we read something about God, and we’re not sure we understand it, we need to realize that He never contradicts His nature of light, truth, righteousness, justice, and merciful love.  He is the God who would rather Himself be tormented for our sin than us!

If we think we’ve come to something that “proves” God is unfair, mean-hearted, or cruel . . we need to look again.  As a six-year-old, I disliked the doctor who saved my life because I didn’t understand what was really going on, and I made irrational judgments about him.  In the same way, when we don’t recognize who God is–our Creator, our Judge, and, if we receive His sacrifice, our Redeemer–we miss that He is the only one who can heal us.

He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. (2 Peter 3:9b, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/the-goodness-and-righteousness-of-god-is-the-lens-through-which-to-ask-all-questions/trackback/

