The God who Suffered for Tormentors

What God did for us is not like any story we know.  He is the God who Suffered for Tormentors.

We were the tormentors.

I can get a glimpse of what God did if I think about a small analogy of it.  Suppose you invite me over to your house for a once-in-a-lifetime dinner.  But I’m jealous because you know how to make a great dinner and I don’t.  So while we’re eating, I take my steak knife and stab you in the arm.

You go to ER and get a medical bill that costs a small fortune.  And the police come and arrest me.  You could sue me for expenses and all the pain I’ve caused you–not to mention to take just vengeance on me.  But you don’t.  Instead, you pay the medical bill that I caused you.  Then you come to the jail where I’m in a holding cell, take my place, face the judge for me, and serve my sentence.

Have you ever heard of such a thing happening?

But that’s nothing compared to the story of the cross.

I serve the God who Suffered for Tormentors.

Surely he took up our infirmities

and carried our sorrows,

yet we considered him stricken by God,

smitten by him, and afflicted.

But he was pierced for our transgressions,

he was crushed for our iniquities;

the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,

and by his wounds we are healed. (Isaiah 53:4-5, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2012/10/28/the-god-who-suffered-for-tormentors/trackback/

