This Moment

“The God who made the world and everything in it, being Lord of heaven and earth, does not live in temples made by man, nor is he served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all mankind life and breath and everything. And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, that they should seek God, in the hope that they might feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us, for

“‘In him we live and move and have our being’;

as even some of your own poets have said,

“‘For we are indeed his offspring.’” (Paul, Acts 17:24-28, ESV)

I look at the computer screen, not because the neurons in my brain and the rod cells in my eyes are working, but because Jesus chooses that I see.  When He chose to heal the blind, He could have healed any problem of the eye or brain–or He simply could have had them see without the use of either.  He is God.

I press keys with my fingers, not because the nerves and muscles in my fingers and my nervous system are working, but because Jesus chooses that I feel.  When He chose to heal the paralytic, He could have healed any problem of the legs or spine or brain–or He simply could have had them move without the use of them.  He is God.

I hear the keys as I tap them with my fingers, not because my ear drums and the translation to my brain is working, but because Jesus chooses that I hear.  When He chose to heal the deaf, He could have healed any problem of the ear or brain–or He simply could have had them hear without the use of either.  He is God.

The breath in my lungs, the pulse of my heart, the thoughts in my mind are only possible because every moment–this moment–Jesus is giving me the gift of time.  Though I can take every precaution in the world to keep myself healthy, nothing can stop God from taking me when my time is up.

Man’s days are determined; you have decreed the number of his months and have set limits he cannot exceed. (Job 14:5, NIV)

Photograph by Mauro Sartori

I cannot, for all the positive thinking in the world, will myself the ability to think even one thought.  I cannot, for all the exercise in the world, protect my heart from ceasing to beat for even one moment.  I cannot go to any surgeon in the world who can sustain my life for even one day when it is my time to go.  I cannot by any amount of shopping, friendships, success, or vacation give myself even one extra breath of life.

I am totally, utterly dependent on God.  Though I can pretend I control my life, only He determines exactly how long I live . . and when I die.

Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. (Psalm 139:16, HCSB)

The miracle of the moment . . God is giving you the miracle of this moment . . to come to Him.  He is giving you the miracles of this moment to place faith in Him.  He is giving you the miracle of this moment to worship Him.

He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. (2 Peter 3:9b, NIV)

He is giving you this breath in your lungs, this pulse of your heart, this ability to think in your mind for you to seek Him for everlasting life.

He has extended His mercy scepter to you in this moment; you are free, totally free, to trust Him right now.

You are free, totally free, to trust Him right now.  Not even Satan with all his forces of fallen angels can stop you.

But if you do not trust Him . . if you wait for the next moment, you gamble that you will have a next moment.  No one knows when God will withdraw His breath of life from their body.  No one knows when they have taken the last breath into their lungs.  No one knows when their heart has spent its last pulse.  No one knows when their mind has brought its last thought.  No one knows when God’s breath of life will go out from their body, and the decay of sin’s curse take its final hold on the physical.

Christ didn’t go into a holy place made by human hands. He didn’t go into a model of the real thing. Instead, he went into heaven to appear in God’s presence on our behalf. Every year the chief priest went into the holy place to make a sacrifice with blood that isn’t his own. However, Christ didn’t go into heaven to sacrifice himself again and again. Otherwise, he would have had to suffer many times since the world was created. But now, at the end of the ages, he has appeared once to remove sin by his sacrifice. People die once, and after that they are judged. Likewise, Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of humanity, and after that he will appear a second time. This time he will not deal with sin, but he will save those who eagerly wait for him. (Hebrews 9:24-28, GW)

If you are a believer, and you are sinning in this moment, if you are failing to follow God this moment, if you are neglecting His will for your life this moment, then you, too, are gambling.  You are gambling that you will have more moments to serve Him.

If you are wrong, you will wake up in eternity ashamed that you have spent your last breath, your last heartbeat, your last thought, on something that did not call anyone to meet Christ, did not draw yourself or any other believer closer to the Father’s chest, did not speak of the great love you feel for Him in your life.  Your last opportunity for your last love letter will be gone; you will have missed it.

For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ. Anyone who builds on that foundation may use a variety of materials—gold, silver, jewels, wood, hay, or straw. But on the judgment day, fire will reveal what kind of work each builder has done. The fire will show if a person’s work has any value. If the work survives, that builder will receive a reward. But if the work is burned up, the builder will suffer great loss. The builder will be saved, but like someone barely escaping through a wall of flames. (1 Corinthians 3:11-15, NLT)

This moment.

This moment.

This moment is precious.

Can any of you add a single hour to the length of your life by worrying? (Jesus, quoted in Matthew 6:27, ISV)

__________________________________

Photograph by Mauro Sartori, profile on http://www.flickr.com/people/topastrodfogna/

Photograph is under Creative Commons License.
See Copyright Page for Bible translation information.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/this-moment/trackback/

