Keeps us

Will any one of you who has a servant plowing or keeping sheep say to him when he has come in from the field, ‘Come at once and recline at table’? Will he not rather say to him, ‘Prepare supper for me, and dress properly, and serve me while I eat and drink, and afterward you will eat and drink’? Does he thank the servant because he did what was commanded? So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done what was our duty.’” (Luke 17:7-10, ESV)

To believe we are unworthy servants keeps us in His power.

It is not us who does any saving.  It is not from us that wisdom is born, nor from us that authority is commanded.  It is not our goodness or love that rescues the lost.  We are simply following God.

If I try to usurp that, if I try to become the one who receives God’s honor and glory and power, I am overcome by the power of sin. Of myself, I have only one power: the power to be used by Satan as a puppet for evil.

But I have been called to serve in the Kingdom of kingdoms, in the realm of the one and awesome GOD in all His majesty.  In Scripture, as a follower of Christ, I am described as His servant or slave, as His friend, as His younger sibling, and as His child.

Not one of us has one whit of important in the eyes of God except by the blood of Christ Jesus. 

Everything, everything about our relationship with Jesus as Christians is only possible because He is the Christ–God’s anointed to save us.  I am His child only because Christ has redeemed me.  There is nothing within me that has earned this priceless gift.  I am the worthless servant called from the fields of Hell to start gleaning in the Kingdom of God.

To believe I am an unworthy servant keeps me in Christ’s power.  I remember: I am the servant, and He is my GOD.

I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength (Philippians 4:12-13, NLT)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/keeps-us/trackback/

