Learning from Ben

Learning from Ben

Ben is more than the man who takes me out on dates and pays the ticket.  He’s more even than a romance.  He has become one of the greatest mentors of my life.

I am motivated to grow up in my faith as I see who he is, who he is becoming, and what he is teaching me along the way.  I see how he lives for Christ and I want to live more like he does.  I really look up to him, not because he is always right or by any means perfect–he is a mess, like me; redeemed by Christ, like me–but because the quiet integrity with which he lives his faith out before our God inspires me.

I am learning from Ben.  He has become the authority who I want to follow under Christ for the rest of my life.  My heart has found the man I would trust my life with in a moment of danger.  I know beyond a doubt that he would die for me, and I see him seek to protect me in the little things that really matter, too.  He is the warrior who has done battle for me, and he is the knight who has shielded me.  He has behaved in a way towards me that, imperfectly, reminds me of how Christ treats me.  I have learned more about the nature of Christ since I have known Ben, and that is the highest honor I can bestow on him.

I see in Ben the work of Christ.  I see in him compassion, courage, devotion, faith, forgiveness, honor, humility, integrity, loyalty, mercy, patience, quietness before God, steadiness, tenderness, and zeal.  I see these traits in him not because of his righteousness, but because of Christ’s.  Christ is sanctifying him.  Witnessing the sanctification of the man I love and adore is a delight, a delight that motivates me to follow more closely to the footsteps of Christ in my life.

His divine power has given us everything required for life and godliness through the knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness. By these He has given us very great and precious promises, so that through them you may share in the divine nature, escaping the corruption that is in the world because of evil desires. For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with goodness, goodness with knowledge, knowledge with self-control, self-control with endurance, endurance with godliness, godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love. For if these qualities are yours and are increasing, they will keep you from being useless or unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. (2 Peter 1:3-8, HCSB)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/learning-from-ben/trackback/

