Change of heart

Their idols are silver and gold, the work of men’s hands.

 They have mouths, but they speak not: eyes have they, but they see not:

 They have ears, but they hear not: noses have they, but they smell not:

 They have hands, but they handle not: feet have they, but they walk not: neither speak they through their throat.

(Psalm 115:4-7, KJV)

Ten years ago, if you had said to me that one day I would no longer live for my gods, I would have dreaded my future and feared life would be more boring than I would be able to withstand.  My gods were not just my bread & butter, they were nearly all I knew of my existence (with just a little bitty bit left for God and maybe people).

How God drew me out from these gods is a supernatural miracle in my life.  On my own, it was impossible for me to get rid of them without replacing them with other gods.

Only God can replace gods.  And He can do it because He is bigger, and He is love.

Just like He can replace the idols in our lives with the reality of His Presence, He can replace the stone heart that longs for the idols with a beating heart that longs for Him.

He has done it for me, and He can do it for you.

Ask Him.

Just ask Him, right now.

My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “LORD, I am coming.” (Psalm 27:8, NLT)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/change-of-heart-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. We cannot have nothing inside us. Like a vacuum, our spirits pull things in. Ephesians 4:22-24 tells us to “put off your old self… and put on the new self.” Every time the Bible tells us to get rid of something, it tells us to replace it with something else. Colossians 3:9-10 reads, “…since you have taken off your old self… and have put on the new self.” Romans 6:11 “Count yourselves dead to sin, but alive in Christ.” In Matthew 12 and Luke 11, Jesus tells the story of a demon-possessed man who has the demon exorcised. But when it returns, it “finds the house unoccupied” and brings more evil spirits to join it. We cannot remove evil thoughts unless we replace them with Godly thoughts. We cannot put off sin without putting on righteousness. We cannot possibly remove our gods without replacing them, either with other gods, or with God.

    On Mon, Apr 15, 2013 at 9:31 PM, gracestories


Leave a Reply

