Do believers praise God because of me?

And they praised God because of me. (Galatians 1:24, NLT, NIV)

So they praised God for what had happened to me. (Galatians 1:24, GW)

The happening of Christ in Paul’s life was as dramatic as a desert changed into a garden.  No longer did Paul persecute Christians, it’s true, but it was much more than just that.  Paul became an encourager, a blesser, a mentor, a worker, a sharer, a server, a helper, a corrector, a sower, a giver, a forgiver, a pray-er, and a builder.  The love in his life was supernatural, and the believers knew it couldn’t have come from him.  That love had to have come from God and, as such, it served as a reminder to appreciate (praise) God for His love.

Paul could honestly say that believers were praising God because of him.  Whoa.  Not whoa because he got credit for something, but whoa because he opened his life to be a channel of love for Christ.

Paul didn’t do something that any other believer can’t do.  Anyone in Christ can cause other believers to praise God.  How?  By living through His love.

Tonight, I was trying to help someone in a tense situation, and Ben’s response when I talked to him about it later was to say, “I’m so proud of you.”  I praise God because of him.  Actually, I started writing this blog this morning before that ever happened, because I have so much to praise God for because of how Ben has forgiven me, encouraged me, loved on me (and I can be pretty unlovable sometimes), and treasured my worth in Christ.  It reminds me of, well, it reminds me of how God sees me. I see in Ben a current example of the truth of Paul’s words: as believers, we can cause others to praise God because of how we treat them.

And they praised God because of me. (Galatians 1:24, NLT, NIV)

So they praised God for what had happened to me. (Galatians 1:24, GW)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/do-believer-praise-god-because-of-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I praise God because of you. I’ve had so many wonderful changes in my life since last summer: A wonderful girlfriend, a new outlook on life and the world, a new passion for God and missions, a new purpose, an end of depression and despair, a better diet and sleep schedule (well, I’m still working on those, but they’re improving), a new appreciation for things, better relationships with friends and family… You brought all of these (and many more) wonderful things into my life, Teej, and I praise God for them, and for you. I love you.

    On Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:25 PM, gracestories


Leave a Reply

