False save

Early on in my blogging career, I learned about the false save.  It’s an auto-function that seems to save work every couple minutes.  It claims to save work with reassuring words about the time the work was saved.  But, in reality, if I didn’t click the actual “save” button *POOF* all my work is gone.

The first time I discovered this, I had plenty to be upset about.  I’d been tricked.  I’d been lulled into a false sense of security that my work was being faithfully saved, when in actuality I lost everything since the last time I’d pressed the “save” button.  But there was nothing I could do about it.  It was too late.

It’s not really so bad to have a few hundred words lost—but what about your whole life’s work?  What if everything you had was based on one belief, and that belief failed you in the end?  What if everything you thought would keep you safe went up in smoke, and you wound up empty-handed and stripped of every dream you ever had?  What if everything you thought you had going for you fell apart at the last moment, every accomplishment you were confident in evaporated, and every relationship you were sure of was instantly severed?

Don’t be fooled by those who try to excuse these sins, for the anger of God will fall on all who disobey him. (Ephesians 5:6, NLT)

Do not deceive yourselves. If any of you think you are wise by the standards of this age, you should become “fools” so that you may become wise. (1 Corinthians 3:18, NIV)

I urge you, brothers and sisters, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people. (Romans 16:17-18, NIV)

If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. (1 John 1:8, NIV)

I want you to know how much I have agonized for you and for the church at Laodicea, and for many other believers who have never met me personally. I want them to be encouraged and knit together by strong ties of love. I want them to have complete confidence that they understand God’s mysterious plan, which is Christ himself. In him lie hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

I am telling you this so no one will deceive you with well-crafted arguments. For though I am far away from you, my heart is with you. And I rejoice that you are living as you should and that your faith in Christ is strong. (Colossians 2:1-5, NLT)

If anyone thinks they are something when they are not, they deceive themselves. (Galatians 6:3, NIV)

Dear children, don’t let anyone deceive you about this: When people do what is right, it shows that they are righteous, even as Christ is righteous. (1 John 3:7, NLT)

For many deceivers have gone out into the world. They refuse to acknowledge Jesus the Messiah as having become human. Any such person is a deceiver and an antichrist. See to it that you don’t destroy what we have worked for, but that you receive your full reward. Everyone who does not remain true to the teaching of the Messiah, but goes beyond it, does not have God. The person who remains true to the teaching of the Messiah has both the Father and the Son. (2 John 1:7-9, ISV)

And the great dragon was thrown down, that ancient serpent, who is called the devil and Satan, the deceiver of the whole world—he was thrown down to the earth, and his angels were thrown down with him. (Revelation 12:9, ESV)

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. (James 1:22, NIV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/false-save/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

