Why do you have to love God for all things to work out for the good in your life?

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28, ESV)

Suppose I wanted to go spelunking, and I went to Fantastic Caverns, America’s only ride-through cave.  The tour guide guarantees it will be a spectacular tour.  But as we travel through the cave on the jeep, I jump off.  I decide to go check out what’s inside one of the dark tunnels.  I get lost, can’t find my tour group, and wander around for several hours until the tour guide finally finds me, having taken the rest of the group back.

I rant vitriol against the tour guide, demanding a refund for my money.  After all, I did not experience a spectacular tour.  I got lost in the dark and felt scared.

Very fair reaction on my part?

Well . . no.  But this is very similiar to the reaction we have when God tells us that we must follow in His path to Heaven through Jesus Christ’s payment of our sins if we want to receive the free gift of forgiveness and experience His love.

Just like a tour guide can guarantee your experience will be dangerous and scary if you veer away from the group tour of the cavern, God guarantees your experience in this life will be dangerous and scary without Him.

The Good News is that God does seek and save the lost, like the tour guide in the analogy who returned looking for me when I lost my way in the cavern.

For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” (Luke 19:10, NIV)

We can choose to stay lost, and refuse Christ’s help, or we can get back on the right tour.  If I refuse to listen to the tour guide when he finds me, I will continue to stay lost.  I will wander around in darkness until I die.  And if I refuse to listen to the Son of God who is the only One with the rescue plan and the only one who can save me, I will spend my eternity in darkness away from Him.

If you ever get to go to Fantastic Caverns, pay for a tour.  Check out the caves under the supervision of a tour guide.  Follow your guide’s rules.  You’ll get to see stalactites, stalagmites, and an enormous cavern.  Best of all, you’ll be able to see it all with the light of the tour guide’s flashlight.

If you want to go to Heaven, receive the free gift of salvation.  Check out God’s Word under the supervision of Jesus Christ.  Follow His rules.  You’ll get to see golden streets, gates of pearl, and enormous mansions.  Best of all, you will get to spend eternity with (and because of) the God of Light.

This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. (1 John 1:5, NLT)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/why-do-you-have-to-love-god-for-all-things-to-work-out-for-the-good-in-your-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good morning sweet granddaughter.

  2. Its interesting to read your blogs.I would like to read one you would write on “irrestible grace”. I did resist the HS for a time because I was natural lost sinner.”the natural man receiveth not the spirit of God ;for they are foolishness to him, neither can he know them because they are spiritually discerned” 1 cor 2:14. The HS changed my sinful desires to a hunger and rightousness for eternal life because of what Christ’s death, burial, and reserection had done for me because God had chosen me before the foundation of the world.Eph 1:4. I am a strong TULIP baptist Baptist, T=total depravity of man,U=cnconditional election, L=limited atonement, I=irrestible grace, P=perceverence of the saints. I don’t know of anywhere in the bible where it means that a person has a free will to choose God until the HS of God gives them the discerning
    ” will” to desire the forgiveness of sins and then there is a hunger and thirst for rightousness that comes from the WILL of God by Grace and not by any will of man because he is dead in tresspasses and sin. Ha, my typing could use some practice, looking back at this. Love you Sug stay safe and tell Ben hello for me. Papa

    • This is the first time i have tried to reply. Hope i’m doing it right. I hope I have done the reply right.


Leave a Reply

