Follow your heart?

“And don’t just follow your heart, man; ’cause your heart can be deceived. But you gotta lead your heart.”  –character Michael Simmons, Fireproof

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it? (Jeremiah 17:9, ESV)

If a doctor told me my gallbladder was desperately sick, I wouldn’t go out and scarf down a big pizza.  If a doctor told me my brain was desperately sick, I wouldn’t go out and enroll in advanced algebra.  But for most of my life, even though I had grown up knowing about sin, I thought I could trust my heart, at least somewhat.

Now I know: I’ve got to lead my heart, not follow it.  But the problem is, I am not capable of leading my heart.  I’ve got to find a Leader for my heart, to lead my heart.  That Leader is the God of Love, revealed to us through Jesus Christ, His Son.  With Him as Master of my life and Leader of my heart, I can really follow my heart–as long as my heart is following Him.

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. (Psalm 37:4, ESV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/follow-your-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

