Climbs & Slides & More to Life than This

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5:1, NIV)

Have you ever seen the battery operated toys that have stairs and slide and little figures that climb the stairs, roll down the slide, and then do it all over again?

Penguin Race

I have one of these toys.  Mine has little pirates and a parrot, and the principle is the same: they climb, climb, climb, and then slide, slide, slide, and then climb, climb, climb again, and then slide, slide, slide again.

The little characters have special rollers for “feet”, designed for their endless journey.  Climb, climb, climb . . slide, slide, slide.  Climb, climb, climb . . slide, slide, slide.

Sound familiar?

It is the near exact habit of most of our lives.  It might look different in different people and at different times, but the climbing and sliding are always there.

For you, the latest might be a climb, climb, climb . . or it might be a slide, slide, slide  . . but the same two principles are there.  You’re climbing.  Or you’re sliding.

The same for me.

Up, up, up the stairs.  Down, down, down the slide.

There is nothing–not one thing–I can do to get off the never-ending cycle.

Some call it “good luck” and “bad luck”.  Others call it “karma”.  And others call it “fate”.  It’s what goes our way versus what doesn’t.

It is a prison of ups and downs.

A familiar prison, a mindless prison, and maybe even a comforting prison.  But a prison nonetheless.  It’s a cycle I can’t break free from.

Outside my realm is a mighty war going on between Good and evil, Life and death, Grace and consequence.

Inside my realm, I am prisoner of the effects of the sin I can’t escape and the mercy I don’t understand.

Slide, slide, slide.  Climb, climb, climb.

I am passive to my responsibility in this war because I either see myself as acted upon, carried along by what I cannot control . . or I delude myself into believing I’m on my own exciting journey that I control, and not the endless cycle of climbs and slides I find myself bound to abide by.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5:1, NIV)

Apart from Christ, all I can look forward to in this life is to be carried along day to day by the chutes of frightening sin I’ve had my own hand in constructing, and to be lifted up by the extravagances of baffling grace I can’t possibly understand.

I get a great evaluation at work–climb, climb, climb.

I puncture my tire on a curb when I don’t have the money to spare on it–slide, slide.

I have a boyfriend–climb, climb, climb, climb.

I lose my retainers and worry my front teeth are getting pushed out of alignment–slide, slide.

Cheerios are on sale–climb.

My friends don’t respond to my facebook post–slide.

But it’s not just the small climbs and slides.  It’s the sky-scraping climbs and breakneck slides, too.

All of my life and everything in it, it’s all just a climb or a slide; it’s all just a dance or a dirge; it‘s all an equally meaningless cycle without

Christ.

Some people mistakenly think the point of Christianity is to get more climbs-per-slide ratio.  That isn’t it at all.

It’s to be free from the cycle.

It’s to get off the track.

And it’s to get feet–real feet–instead of rollers.

Whatever climbs or slides come my way in this life, Christ enables me to turn them into eternally-mattering landscapes in His Kingdom.

What was once a climb only enacted upon me, scooting my rollers up one step at a time . . becomes an opportunity for me to scale a snowy-topped mountain of Hallelujahs for God.  Each mountain becomes a reminder of my delight in who He is.  Each mountain becomes a glimpse of what my joy in Him will be like one day.

And what was once a slide being rushed upon me, forcing my rollers to spin wildly . . becomes an opportunity for me to claim a shadowy valley for God.  I learn to have faith in who God is regardless of what sin has done to His world.  And so each valley becomes a reminder of my grief over the effects of sin and my eagerness for my King.  Each valley becomes a glimpse of what my existence would be like without Him.

I choose for Christ to set me free from the endless track of stairs and slides of this life.  I choose to journey the mountains and valleys between me and my King.  I choose to live a life that matters–not just so long as the switch to this world is turned on, but for all eternity.

I choose Christ.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5:1, NIV)

Published in: on September 22, 2013 at 11:14 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/climbs-slides-more-to-life-than-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

