Dive in

Leaping into candy gumballs.

My escape in the ball pit as a child.

Completely covered by a popcorn rainbow.

Hidden inside light-as-a-feather rocks.

Tunneling through scoops of bouncy ice cream.

There was something breathtakingly captivating about being totally tucked inside a hill, totally hidden from view, and yet able to breath and squirm and even see.

The ball pit . . marvelous.

Two summers ago, I got to see the very same effect again through the eyes of a child.  I got to meet Helen, a girl I sponsor in Guatemala at a celebration center that had all sorts of children’s play equipment.  Helen came from a rural village and may have never seen a ball pit.  But she dove in like a pro.  She hid way under the pile of colorful balls and then popped out.

Ever since the Garden, there has been something delightful about hiding in goodness.  Adam and Eve tried to hide among the foliage so that God wouldn’t see their sin.  We try to hide in our achievements, entertainment, status, job, and other distractions to keep ourselves away from God, too.

But hiding in God’s goodness–that’s an altogether different story.  Rather than the heavy-laden burden of distraction, hiding in God’s goodness is a light delight.  We can move about freely, totally hidden from our sin, our soul totally buried from Satan’s grasp.

Recommended resources: Dive by Steven Curtis Chapman and Hidden in Christ: Living as God’s Beloved by James Bryan Smith

My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge; My savior, You save me from violence. (2 Samuel 22:3, NASB)

Published in: on March 30, 2014 at 7:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/dive-in/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

