April 17

April 17 marks the anniversary of when I gave my life to Christ. I was sitting towards the back of a Saturday night service at Northpoint Church, by myself. The pastor used the beatitudes to talk about the nature of Christ and I was astounded by the MAGNIFICENCE of Jesus.

At the end of the service, the pastor had us close our eyes and raise our hands if we wanted to commit our lives to Christ. He addressed each person individually (“Thank you–I see that hand.”) I remember deciding to raise my hand and open my heart and life to Jesus.

I have spent most of my life believing Jesus could never want me and that I was an embarrassment to God. That night the beatitudes showed me differently: Jesus’ heart is SO good, and His heart is for us, not against us (see John 3:17). If your guilt or shame or general disappointment in yourself holds you back from opening your heart to God, do what I did and surrender your burden to His waiting hands. He really will carry it for you and cast it down at the foot of the cross. And in exchange, He will give you the beauty of His love in a way you will never have imagined possible.

These past years since my commitment, God has taken me on such a journey as I never imagined. I have had the greatest joys and some deep sorrows, too. But the most unimaginably, incredibly beautiful part has been learning more and more about the character of Christ.

He is SO beautiful . .

Published in: on April 19, 2014 at 6:12 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/april-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

