Genius Recommendations

I remember when I first found out that itunes had a Genius Recommendations program that could read your music library and figure out what songs you were likely to enjoy (and buy) that weren’t yet in your library. Sometimes the genius worked for me and more times it didn’t, because it was based on the assumption a person would like more songs from that same singer/band or similar singers/bands.

When the novelty wore off, I didn’t pay a lot of attention to my Genius Recommendations. That is, until one day, oh, I guess a few months or so after I committed my life to Christ.

You know that feeling where you’ve looked at something dozens of times and haven’t really paid attention and then you’re suddenly like, Oh, no! ?

That happened to me.

I looked at my recommendations, and my immediate thought was, Why would itunes be suggesting such awful music to me? Clearly, this Genius Recommendations thing was all-wrong.

Or was it?

The Genius Recommendations has a handy little explanation of what it’s recommending. It says, “You have/bought music by _________” and therefore advertises another song or cd it finds similar.

There–posted very clearly–by every song I would never see myself buying, was the evidence that this music fit into my library: a song or album I had in my music library that was similar!

I remember thinking, Oh, I have got to fix this.

I started using my Genius Recommendations, well,differently than itunes had in mind. Every time an offensive song recommendation popped up, I got to see what in my library reminded the genius of that song and then I could go and delete it.

I didn’t always do it right away. It was hard to give up songs that I had seen as “somewhat acceptable” for so long.

Over time, my existing library got smaller and smaller, but I started buying new songs to match my new commitment to Christ. For a while there, it was very startling to go onto my Genius Recommendations and see a recommendation for some yucky song matching some old music still stuck in my library right alongside a recommendation for a worship song!

Genius Recommendations changed how I saw music.

I wonder what would happen if there was a program that took all of our behaviors in a day and recommended future actions like:

You coveted today. May we recommend: stealing.

You watched TV all day. You may also like: wasting your life.

You held a grudge today. Other people with grudges also liked: murder.

But I already have genius recommendations for my life. I have a Book that tells me where my behavior will get me on every single page, and the one behavior I need most:

To believe in Jesus Christ.

You gave your life to Christ today.  May we recommend: living like you belong to Him, starting right now.

 Since you have heard about Jesus and have learned the truth that comes from him, throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception. Instead, let the Spirit renew your thoughts and attitudes. Put on your new nature, created to be like God—truly righteous and holy. (Ephesians 4:21-24, NLT)

Published in: on April 19, 2014 at 3:24 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/genius-recommendations/trackback/

