The Pepsi

In Guatemala, we got soda for free with meals, and saying no became a lot harder.  But, I had to pick the bottled water.  See, I can’t drink high fructose corn syrup and, as tempting as it is, I’ve said no to mainstream soda for years.

The last night of our stay–the night I began to fall in love with Ben–I learned something.  South America is known for its soda, because they use real sugar, not high fructose corn syrup.  All the drinks I had turned down . . I could have had.

And now the waiters were coming around with trays of sodas for all of us, as many as we wanted.

Sometimes we feel like, if we’ve missed something for so long, we might as well not try to have it anymore.

But than night I splurged.  It was the first time in years I’d had Pepsi and what a thrill!

I was 28 years old–almost 29–that night.  That night I had the choice to sit in the chair against the wall, with a friend blocking any chance of Ben sitting next to me . . or I had the choice to sit one down from the wall and see what God would unfold.

I could have looked at the years gone by, the impossibility of ever finding the right man, and passed up the opportunity to leave an empty chair beside me.

Sometimes we feel like, if we’ve missed something for so long, we might as well not try to have it anymore.

But that night I left the chair open.  And Ben sat down beside me.

And so it began.

.               .               .               .               .               .               .               .               .

Sometimes we feel like, if we’ve missed something for so long, we might as well not try to have it anymore, and sometimes the things we pass up are way more important that Pepsi . . and even more important than finding the love of your life.

Like eternal love.  Everlasting peace.  True joy.  Real forgiveness.

When we discover that God is holding these gifts out to us, we feel such a surge of regret that we haven’t received them before . . that we can actually miss receiving them now.

But I have opened my heart to Christ.  I receive His gift.  And no matter how many years were wasted, or how deep the sorrows made, I am ready and willing to receive His grace for me that He holds out . . right now.

It’s amazing what a Pepsi can remind you of.

For the sin of this one man, Adam, caused death to rule over many. But even greater is God’s wonderful grace and his gift of righteousness, for all who receive it will live in triumph over sin and death through this one man, Jesus Christ. (Romans 5:17, NLT)

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/the-pepsi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

