$9.99 Polo Shirts and Gratitude

Today I went to my mom’s house to do laundry, since we don’t have a washer and dryer in our apartment.  I went for hours without paying much attention to the mail on her counter.

And then, suddenly, I saw it: POLO SHIRTS for $9.99 at Kohl’s.

My husband looks stunning in POLO SHIRTS.  (Dreamy eyed smile)

On the front of the Kohl’s ad are a variety of colors and then, in large letters, 9.99!

On the inside there are more colorful shirts, more 9.99, AND as a bonus: “Orig. $26”

I’M GOING TO BE SAVING SO MUCH MONEY!

$16 A SHIRT!  WE’RE PRACTICALLY MAKING MONEY ON THIS DEAL!  😉

A SEA OF SHIRTS!  A RAINBOW OF SHIRTS!  A CLOSET FULL OF SHIRTS!

AND NOT JUST ANY SHIRTS,

P-O-L-O SHIRTS!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s almost too much.

Two years ago to the day, I was not thrilled about Polo shirts.  I had nobody to buy Polo shirts for.  I had no Ben.

Ben has given me so much more than he realizes.  Kissies on the cheek.  A partner at miniature golf.  And–oh yes, and!–jumping up and down over Polo shirts.

.                .                .                .                .                .                .                .

Sometimes I think, before people become Christians, they look at things Christians get excited about and they think, “I don’t get it–Polo shirts?”  (Well, not really Polo shirts, but it serves the illustration.)

Our relationship with Christ changes everything about who we are.  And what’s exciting to us–that changes too.  If you look just at a church service, or a youth rally, or a homeless shelter, or a pregnancy care center, it might not make sense.  But if you look at the heart behind this love, it all starts making so very much sense.

God is love.  (1 John 4:16b)

 

 

Published in: on June 2, 2014 at 3:23 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/9-99-polo-shirts-and-gratitude/trackback/

