Smooshees

Growing up in the 80’s, one of my favorite toys were Smooshees.  Smooshees were mostly flat, squishy dolls that could be “smooshed” into their things.  For example, a bear Smooshee could be smooshed into a honeypot.  An elephant Smooshee could be smooshed into a circus tent.  A raccoon Smooshee could be smooshed into a garbage can.

You and I are not like Smooshees.  When we try to smoosh ourselves into our stuff . . we never fit.  God didn’t make us to conform to our possessions.  So many times we are hampered from God’s will because we are “stuck” in our belongings.  We make “stuff” our hiding place from God–and we find ourselves so squeezed in that we can’t get ourselves out.

I don’t want to be squished by what I have.  I’m made to be more than that.  Things can never give me the gifts of the Spirit.  When I think about it, all I really want are those gifts.  And only God can give me those gifts.  And He gives them freely through His Son Jesus.  So there’s no reason at all to be cramming myself into material goods.

Don’t be greedy for the good things of this life, for that is idolatry. (Colossians 3:5c, NLT)

Published in: on June 6, 2014 at 2:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gracestories.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/smooshees/trackback/

